Brain Farts

How I Reached My Inner Wonder Woman

Daily Prompt: State of Your Year

Write up a mid-year “State of My Year” post. Photographers, artists, poets: show us NOW.

Image

For my State of My Year address, I’ve opted out of writing a poem to share a photo I took and edited. I embellished it with a quote at the end of a song, “Overwhelmed.” by Tim McMorris. Outside of the song itself, what this quote means to me is that I should have never stopped loving myself and putting myself in undeserved situations where I am left feeling unloved and bitter.

I found the coke bottle when I was exploring a run-down house with some friends. Before, I would have never done such a dangerous thing. But because I’ve spent a portion of my life never taking risks, I saw this as a chance. Although this one was an extreme risk I took, it was very exhilarating because I was out of my comfort zone.

The rose is my favorite flower because it symbolizes love. Everyone deserves love and most importantly, self-love which is something I lost for many years. This year, I love myself more than ever. I love myself enough to say no to people and not worry they won’t love me anymore. I love myself enough to make decisions about my life and not let others dictate it for me. I love myself enough to be me and not worry how others will judge me.

I’ve made this year about personal growth and ending a life-long battle against codependency and perfectionism. I’ve titled it “My Quarter-Life Crisis,” and this has been the best year of my life.

2 thoughts on “How I Reached My Inner Wonder Woman

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | flow of my soul

Leave a Reply

