Sweet & Sour Poetry

A Passion That No Longer ‘Draws’ My Attention

Sketching of Jessica Biel by Molly Greye

Sketching of Jessica Biel by Molly Greye – 2010

It took a crayon and paper to
Discover how much I love to draw.
Mom found my Picasso-inspired art
On a white, living room wall.

At ten years old I had
A heavy passion for animation.
Becoming an animator at Disney’s studio
Was my all-time aspiration

Years went by and my skill made me bitter
Too many people took advantage of my talent
Draw this! Draw that! Draw! Draw! Draw!
Absent appreciation made me say, “I’ve had it!”

Although I no longer draw at all,
I’ve never lost my creativity
Several years into school and work
Writing became the biggest part of me

Occasionally I will draw for fun
But I focus my attention on writing
I’m working on my first adventure novel
And I find it so freaking exciting!

Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star

11 thoughts on “A Passion That No Longer ‘Draws’ My Attention

  1. Your poem touched the string in my heart that is aching to break free of what I have right now.

    Thanks for writing my heart out dear!

    I also want to read your novel’s chapter!! Will begin this Sunday ^^

    • I am delighted to know how touched you are about my poem. Thank you very much for reading it. Also I greatly appreciate your interest in my novel. I look forward to your opinion 🙂

Leave a Reply

