Sweet & Sour Poetry

The Fire, The Prince, And The Nutcracker

Relaxing at a  small cafe
Enjoying coffee and my book
I hear a loud commotion
So I mark my spot and look

I gawk and hear a cup smash
There’s a person covered in lacquer
Made of wood and colorful paint
He calls himself, “The Nutcracker.”

I firmly believe I’m hallucinating
And grab my stuff to leave
But the strange thing happily
Marches directly toward me

“Why, hello there, beautiful creature.”
His wooden mouth clicked as he spoke
“May you go on a date with me?”
I’m embarrassed and hope it’s a joke.

I politely say no to him
And exit out of the cafe
I hear loud clumps behind me
He follows me like a stray

“Go away!” I shout at him
And jump inside my car
I speed off into traffic
I’m glad my house is far

Late at night I abruptly awake
To the fire alarm blaring off
The room is hot and smoky
My throat burns as I cough

Cursing at my windowless room
I roll over unto the floor
Crawling with eyes burning,
I make my way to the door

My lungs burn and body aches
I am losing myself to the heat
When I am about to give up
I suddenly hear clumping feet

Bursting through the door
The Nutcracker came to save me
Lifting me into his jointless arms
He hustles away very quickly

We have to go downstairs
He wiggles strangely downwards
But fire snatches his wooden legs
And he cries loudly as he burns

Dropping me to the floor,
The fire devours his body
I race out to get help and
Save the one who saved me

Firefighters were at my house
With fire hoses in hand
“Aim the water into the front door!”
They listened to my command

I waited a few minutes
Then I told them to hold back
Running in, I found him and gasped
His body was burnt pitch black

I got help to pull his body out
To the lawn where I cradle his head
“Nutcracker, you idiot.” I sob,
“You came to save me and now you’re dead.”

My tears hit his charred smile
Suddenly his wooden body breaks
I see someone behind the face
And the wood turns into flakes

Soot-covered and handsome
The man is alive and my heart elates
We smile and hug each other
“Now will you let me take you on dates?”

Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths

  1. Reliant Gnome Wrapper | Godrick Gnomish
  2. Look Shadow Tree | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  3. Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths | Let There be Peace on Earth
  4. Reality Life Window | artesonja
  5. The Silhouette’s Breeze | Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths | likereadingontrains
  6. Daily Prompt: Girl, Boy: Phrase (The catch phrase of our lives) | jennifermarshcurtis
  7. Random Beauty – Grace | Inspired by the Comforter
  8. Overpowering Voice, Love | Cofundrum
  9. Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths | littlegirlstory
  10. Chris, Pandas, and D-Box | Random Musings …
  11. Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths .. to Nothing | From Ground to Home
  12. Haphazard: A Daily Prompt Poem « Vicariously Poetic
  13. Around You There | heathervoid
  14. Three Tenths: Crazy, Peace, Seasons | Life & Times
  15. Oh, What Tangled Webs We Weave | Andante Cantabile
  16. Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths | Indira’s Blog
  17. Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths | Indira’s Blog
  18. Haphazard | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  19. Hot Pantheon Rock – Daily Prompt | kemkoh
  20. Black, Watermelon, Doxy: Haphazard words made into Casanova Part 2 | alienorajt
  21. Tres décimos (3/10) | Neva Samaki
  22. That same night… « The Blogging Path
  23. A Magic Place….Haphazard Daily Prompt WP | Daily Observations
  24. Haphazard | The Ambitious Drifter
  25. Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  26. Sometimes Clouds are Purple | Rocket Girl
  27. Haphazard Busy Life | Cosmos Wonderland
  28. Bat! Whiskey! Foxhole! | The Silver Leaf Journal
  29. Daily Prompt: These Three Words-Patchwork Wolves Possession | One Starving Activist
  30. Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths – Think, Association and Then Blog | LADYBOY PROMPT
  31. August Daily Prompt: Think Freedom Character | Portofolio Prita
  32. Cats, Coyotes and Clips | Vampire Maman
  33. Tar Encrusted, Bejeweled | Maggie’s Stories
  34. Daily Prompt; Three-Tenths | terry1954
  35. Star | shame
  36. Wonder Color Nuisance | My [redacted] Journey
  37. ˇˇ﹏why lips flex﹏ˇˇ | The RunningFather Blog
  38. Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths « Mama Bear Musings
  39. Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths (WORK SUCKS EGGS) | My Atheist Blog
  40. Really Weird Challenge | djgarcia94
  41. Last Smart Debris | clarior e tenebris
  42. Daily Prompt: Haphazard | lena de almeida
  43. A whirlwind of rage and steel | The Nameless One
  44. Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths | A mom’s blog
  45. street tea mosaic | From the C-Sweet
  46. Between dreaming and sleeping early this morning I saw Jupiter | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  47. Old Funny Times » My Life, My Way, My Words
  48. Workroom computer storage | Life In The Passenger Seat
  49. Apply Water to Postcards | A Road Less Traveled…
  50. Daily Prompt: Quintessential Gesticulating Camel | In diesen Augenblick
  51. Close your heart | that90skid
  52. Cheesecake Spring Chihuahua | mostlytrueramblings
  53. Write, Think, Snore | Virginia Views

12 thoughts on “The Fire, The Prince, And The Nutcracker

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths (WORK SUCKS EGGS) | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Chef, Coach and Courageuos | Expressions

  3. Pingback: Pushy Be Okay | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

