Brain Farts

Sharing Is Caring But Being A Copy Cat Is Different

Once upon a time, there was an annual festival for high school students called prom. A girl I started hanging out with during lunch time asked me what type of dress I was considering to get.

First! A little bit of background on her: she was well-known for having a new best friend every month and she would copy that person’s personality as well as outfits. I was her new favorite AND it was super creepy but I considered her a very nice person.

When she asked me about my prom dress, it came as no surprise. I lied and told her that I was wearing a ball gown (lie number one). Next she brought up colors and hairstyles which followed with lies number two and three. Flowers, jewelry, and high heels were lies number four, five, and six. She even dared to ask what kind of tuxedo my boyfriend was going to wear. What the frack?! There was no lie for that one because I certainly didn’t know the answer to that one.

I did feel bad for lying to her because she was a very sweet person, but she refused to develop a style of her own and the hell if I am going to have a mini-me at my senior prom. I would so flip-shit on her.

As I predicted, little miss copy-cat dressed almost exactly what I told her what I was supposedly going to wear.  Yep, she was a freaking weirdo.

Although this is a very old lie, I rather share this one over the “I didn’t eat the last piece of cake” lie I told last week.

Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire

Other fabulous posts about Pants on Fire:

  1. Icicles on the house | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Time | Agrifun.com
  3. Getting By: Fake Equilibrium | The Magic Black Book
  4. My “Seasons” Calendar 2013 | Bright Moments Catcher
  5. The Ambiguity Of Fences | Bright Moments Catcher
  6. Peking to Paris 2013. Belgorod, Russia. Sports and racing complex “Virazh” June 19, 2013 | Bright Moments Catcher
  7. Pants on Fire | Lost in Translation
  8. Zenit Camera | Bright Moments Catcher
  9. Raindrops on the windows | Bright Moments Catcher
  10. You’re lying | contrailsonmyheart
  11. Pants on Fire | Geek Ergo Sum
  12. What you know…or you think you do | MC’s Whispers
  13. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Under the Monkey Tree
  14. The Last Lie… | The Rider
  15. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | View From The Third eye
  16. Daily Prompt: Fake | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  17. Poseur | Poesy plus Polemics
  18. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire « Mama Bear Musings
  19. Mikki only plays with humans | We Live In A Flat
  20. My Ex-BF is Getting Married | Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Being a Huntress
  21. If you doubt the lies to be true just ask the blind man he saw it too! | jennifermarshcurtis
  22. Daily Prompt: Pants On Fire | Vagabond
  23. The Algebra of Truth | clarior e tenebris
  24. This Girl Is On Fire | Upstairs Productions
  25. The secret to telling porkies is to not reveal the truth. | thoughtsofrkh
  26. Are Them Pants on Fire? | floatingsheep
  27. kevindeisher
  28.   | The Jittery Goat
  29. “Pants on Fire” | Relax
  30. All art is fake | The Ambitious Drifter
  31. Hope* the happy hugger
  32. I Am OK* | Not a Punk Rocker
  33. Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire | mostlytrueramblings
  34. “Well, I must endure the presence of a few caterpillars if I wish to become acquainted with the butterflies.” ― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince | Unconventional Wisdom From The Rabbit Hole
  35. The Day I Broke the Rules… | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  36. Daily Prompt: Fake. | 3rdculturechildren
  37. 10 Day Blogger Challenge – Half Way There! | fibijeeves
  38. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Moments Thru Lens
  39. Pants On Fire: Little White Lies | suzie81’s Blog
  40. Ooh look, your nose has grown! | alienorajt
  41. The Big White Lier! | Everyday Adventures
  42. I’m OK | Life is great
  43. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | pandora’s island 2
  44. Believe it or not… | Life & Times
  45. Daily Prompt: Pants On Fire|Lies of the Heart | Reject Reality
  46. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | My Atheist Blog
  47. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  48. The Last Lie We Told | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  49. Daily Prompt: Definitely a Fake | Far from Done
  50. Liar, liar, pants ablaze with molten embers | polysyllabic profundities
  51. The Opposite of Love is Not Hate…wp daily prompt | Daily Observations
  52. Little Lucy Liar | Maggie’s Stories
  53. What if I told you? Would you believe me? | Okay, what if ?
  54. The Aliens Are Landing | Andante Cantabile
  55. We Never Met [Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire] | unknowinglee
  56. Send This Grandmother Back To Sunday School! | Carmela Snelbaker
  57. FIGHT FAUX NEWS | Emotional Fitness
  58. The lie to boost my ego | This Oregonian Girl
  59. Daily Prompt: It’s not fake. It’s faux! | SERENDIPITY
  60. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Geeklet Gene
  61. The biggest lie on the Internet. | A Girl with a Piano
  62. Pants of Fire: Rule no 324 of Mommyhood: Some lies are OK! | Being Nenne
  63. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Basically Beyond Basic
  64. The Best Meal Ever | Real Life Co.
  65. Really Faking It | clarior e tenebris
  66. Lying to Myself | 1000 Words Daily
  67. Pants on Fire | The Nameless One
  68. Daily Prompt: Lies, All of it, Lies | readingwithafeather
  69. Everything will be ok, even when it isn’t. | Vampire Maman
  70. Pants on Fire | Danny James
  71. Your Cheatin’ Heart | a former clarity
  72. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | The Blogging Path
  73. The last time I lied | Miss Moiety
  74. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire, Fake | Around and About The Pacific Northwest
  75. The Flame | Compass & Quill
  76. How are you? (but maybe stretch the truth?) | pencil pilot
  77. Where their loyalties lie | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  78. THE LIES WE TELL OURSELVES | hastywords
  79. Life of Lies | anniethinksabout
  80. Daily prompt // fake | simplylifestuff
  81. The lie that haunts me. | My thoughts on a page.
  82. Daily Post: Mistaken | One Starving Activist
  83. My pants!? On fire? | Testing the Strength I Have
  84. Lies Are Deceptive | stubblytroll
  85. Daily Prompt: Liar Liar …. soooo busted!! | Valley Girl Gone Country
  86. Gone | Spunky Wayfarer
  87. LIAR! Pants on Fire | Sisters of Christ
  88. Fake Family | stubblytroll
  89. Daily Prompt: Fake | Et cetera
  90. Daily Prompt: Fake Hug | Nicki
  91. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Chicomallorca’s Blog
  92. Do I really have to lie about something? | Rob’s Surf Report
  93. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Amanda’s Blog™
  94. I’m Lying To You | loveletterstoaghost
  95. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Waiting on a Word
  96. Kind of a Lie | Kind of a Bum
  97. Fiction not Forgery | The Silver Leaf Journal
  98. What if Ben Affleck was cast as Batman? | Okay, what if ?
  99. The Mouse Will Play | Wiley’s Wisdom
  100. Liar, liar, pants on fire | My Un-Puzzled Heart

11 thoughts on “Sharing Is Caring But Being A Copy Cat Is Different

  1. What an interesting story, thank you for sharing it. It was a sad story, though, I think. People with no personalities of their own, and don’t have the ability to figure out how to develop theirs. I hope she came out OK in the end. What did you wear to the prom, if you don’t mind my asking? Stubbs 🙂

      • Thanks for letting me know. I’m glad she grew up. Your gown sounds beautiful. Do you still have it, can you still wear it? If so, plan some time for yourself at home, and be princess for the day, half-day, hour, whatever. I wore my (unconventional) wedding dress to a Halloween party one day. Much to my surprise, a drop dead gorgeous man with a deep voice reached up, zipped up my dress, as if nothing had happened, and just kept walking on. Proper Navy man to the core, he was. If a hole had opened up in the floor and swallowed me, I would not have been happier! I was mortified! ROTFL But, my point being, if you have any more beautiful dresses, find time to wear them, even if you are the only one to see………

      • LOL! At least he was a gentleman about it. Wearing old dresses sounds like fun. I’m not sure if my prom dress will fit me but it’s worth a shot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

