Brain Farts

I’d Sacrifice My Gut For You

As of today, I’m awarding myself The Best Table Manners Award for drinking the one type of juice I absolutely detest out of politeness.

I was hanging out with a friend of mine at her place and I asked her if she had anything I could drink. She asked if I like orange juice and I said yes without a second thought. When she came back, she handed me a cup of orange juice with pulp in it, not knowing how much I hate pulp. I thanked her and maintained a smile on my face. I cringed at the sight of the pulp swimming around in the juice. To me, drinking pulpy juice feels like an invasion of tiny slugs crawling all over my tongue and down my throat. Just thinking about it makes me shiver!

Unfortunately, it was the only juice she had. I didn’t dare tell her how much I refuse to drink it but I didn’t want to be rude to her. I would feel terrible if she had to dump it in the sink. What a waste.  I had the idea that she could try and pour it back in the plastic jug, but the awkwardness and guilt would still be there. It would have been funny to watch though. But I digress.

So guess what happened?

I drank that cup of nastiness like a freaking champ! Damn, am I a good friend or what?

Too bad there wasn’t vodka in it.

Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats

Checkout these acceptance speeches!

  1. Another sunny day | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Logs | Agrifun.com
  3. Bosch? Tefal? Rowenta? Braun? | Bright Moments Catcher
  4. Rural Russia. Windy | Bright Moments Catcher
  5. Rural Toilet | Bright Moments Catcher
  6. It’s good to stay at home | Bright Moments Catcher
  7. Abacus. Testing Nokia Asha 210 Camera | Bright Moments Catcher
  8. Follow your way | Agrifun.com
  9. Wash me! | Bright Moments Catcher
  10. Field flowers | Bright Moments Catcher
  11. Realisation Dream (Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats) | Amelie Lockhart
  12. Daily Prompt: | Under the Monkey Tree
  13. Speechless [Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats] | unknowinglee
  14. Headless Horseman’s Victory | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  15. Daily Prompt-Writing Will Help Me Win | readingwithafeather
  16. I’m so honored | Right Down My Alley
  17. I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Geek Ergo Sum
  18. Cygnets (Daily Prompt: Victory) | photo potpourri
  19. DP Challenge: Victory; the Water Villages of Ha Long Bay, VN | Travels and Trifles
  20. Daily Prompt:I’d like to Thank My Cats | Motherhood and Beyond
  21. I’d like to thank… | thoughtsofrkh
  22. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank the Fans | One Starving Activist
  23. Boomer! | Andante Cantabile
  24. 153. The Scotsman Wins | kevindeisher
  25. The art of accepting blogging awards | The Novice Gardener
  26. Youth Triathlon | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  27. A Small Victory | The Ambitious Drifter
  28. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats (and Dogs) | littlegirlstory
  29. Such A Pretty Trophy | Maggie’s Stories
  30. Daily Prompt: Acceptance Speech – Belladonna on the stand | alienorajt
  31. My Award | The Nest
  32. Professor Dudley Worthington’s Lifetime Achievement Award (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  33. I’d Like to Thank My Cats: How Not To Accept An Award… | suzie81’s Blog
  34. I’d Like to Thank my Cats | Flowers and Breezes
  35. Don’t be hatin’ | mostlytrueramblings
  36. For me? How kind! | Life & Times
  37. Motherhood Award | A mom’s blog
  38. Burke Revisited | clarior e tenebris
  39. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Venti Means 20
  40. I Deserve That Trophy | Shilpa Sharma Online
  41. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats.| Beauty is on the inside Award! | Isabel MissV
  42. The reward would be an award in itself. | Hope* the happy hugger
  43. Thank you Mr Bear… | notsinglebutnothappy
  44. A Standing Ovation… and Silence. | An Upturned Soul
  45. Daily Prompt: …and the winner is ME | mommy&everything
  46. Daily Prompt: I’d like to thank my coffee maker. | M. L. Trefry
  47. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  48. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Dogs, Husband, Friends, and All Benign Deities | SERENDIPITY
  49. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Sued51’s Blog
  50. Daily Prompt: I’d like to thank my cats | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples
  51. Victory: A Dedication to All The Survivors | Mind My Mind But…
  52. Victory | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  53. “I’d Like to Thank My Cats” | Relax
  54. I’d like to thank Y’all! | Randomlyabstract’s Blog
  55. First of all I would like to thank….. | djgarcia94
  56. Victory, from my eyes. | A Girl with a Piano
  57. Best in Show: A Mommy Award | jennifermarshcurtis
  58. I’d Like to Thank My Cats | The Nameless One
  59. Give yourself a pat on the back if you read this blog! : | We Live In A Flat
  60. My Award, My Moment (Daily Prompt) | College Girl Dai
  61. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Love | ModrenHippieMom

26 thoughts on “I’d Sacrifice My Gut For You

  1. That first sentence made me laugh out loud. Good on you. You’re a better friend than me… I was at a bar once and one of my girlfriends insisted on buying the next drink, I said I didn’t have a preference. What I should have said was “anything but beer”. Guess what she bought me? I literally vomit immediately if I drink beer because it is that repulsive to me, I couldn’t even pretend to put it away.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt; I’d like to Thank My Cats | terry1954

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt:I’d like to Thank My Cats | Motherhood and Beyond

  4. Pingback: Am I really going to answer today? | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank… | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Haha i love this post! Ouch- good manners are sometimes so annoying to follow. And I can relate to this story, I had to bring a nasty juice once too, and i couldn’t do anything about it except for giving that helpless look to my sister who was facing the exact situation while we sat at a friend’s drawing room! 😀

Leave a Reply

