Brain Farts

Have You Seen Molly?

What’s defined as bitter, a pet name for Mary, and is a nickname for ecstacy?

Molly.

Yes, people of WordPress, these are the meanings and diminutive of my name. Thank you meaning-of-names.com, babycenter.com, and NBCnews.com for making me feel awkward about my name. Apparently I’m Mary, the bitter drug.

Does this call for a name change? Hell no. I will strive to create a positive interpretation of my name, even if it takes me decades to accomplish this goal.

Anywho, today’s Daily Prompt topic made me more excited about discussing children’s names. Although I don’t have any, every and I mean EVERY woman has thought about baby names way, way, WAY, before having their first child. In high school, my gal pals and I were guilty of talking about baby names whether we had boyfriends or not. As the years went by, I kept rotating baby name ideas. Since I want boys more than girls, I always had a boy name picked out.  I did have a few ideas for girl names but I have dumped all of them.

As of right now, I’m in love with the names Dorian and Darien. Yes, it’s a matter of which vowel I like better but I love both names. Maybe I’ll get lucky and have twin boys on my first try.

Of what if I have triplets? PB&J? Patrick, Benjamin, and Joey?

Other name meanings:

  1. When my granny was young | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Natalie Elizabeth. | Natalie Elizabeth Beech
  3. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Identity
  4. Name that… You! | Geek Ergo Sum
  5. What’s in a Name? « RPMAS
  6. What’s in a Name? | meanderedwanderings
  7. Facebook and Cheap Trick: I’d like you to like me | DCMontreal
  8. There’s no (censored) “D” in my name | thoughtsofrkh
  9. Daily Prompt: The Born Identity | Creative Mysteries
  10. MASIDO | Hellen Masido
  11. Phoneography Weekly: What lies under the bushes | We Live In A Flat
  12. Daily Prompt: Name that…You! « Mama Bear Musings
  13. What’s in a name? | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  14. Daily Prompt: Name that…You | Under the Monkey Tree
  15. daily prompt – what’s in a name? | pork juice & paper towels
  16. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! « Every day adventures in Asia (mostly)
  17. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! Five Js | littlegirlstory
  18. Daily Prompt; Name that..You | terry1954
  19. Daily Prompts | derekalanwilkinson
  20. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | College Girl Dai
  21. Daily Prompt: Identity – It’s Maryann, Not Maryanne, Not Marianne | IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE
  22. What’s In A Name? | The Ambitious Drifter
  23. What’s In A Name? Ingredients | Edward Hotspur
  24. What’s in a name? | Hope* the happy hugger
  25. Naming Baby Brother (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  26. Alienora: what a weird name! | alienorajt
  27. Baby Names Matter | Virginia Views
  28. Oops I Named Myself: The ‘Thrilling’ Tale Behind My Name | Untitled Entity
  29. Beloved Stag in a Field | The Cheese Whines
  30. 160. What’s in a Name? | kevindeisher
  31. Defining Yourself – Identity | Prayers and Promises
  32. A wandering emerald | MC’s Whispers
  33. I name this ship… | Life & Times
  34. Name that…You | Flowers and Breezes
  35. Just the Two of Us | The Seeker’s Dungeon
  36. Little Girl | Being Nenne
  37. A Rose by Any Other Name : Name that… You! | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  38. The Naming Game | A mom’s blog
  39. Naming Me | Self-observing with a Typical Nobody
  40. What’s in a Name? | The Silver Leaf Journal
  41. Name that… You! | The Nameless One
  42. Just the Two of Us | Catching up with The Seeker’s Dungeon | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!
  43. What’s in a name? | Motherhood and Beyond
  44. Renato: | Renato Vasconcellos David
  45. What’s my name all about? | Hreodbeorht’s Surf Report
  46. Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  47. “Name that.. You!” | Relax
  48. The Fertile Earth Goddess | In Harmony
  49. What’s In A Name? ((Daily Prompt)) | ♡ sarah ♡
  50. Daily Prompt: Name That…You! : Minh the Clever Cat | The Blessing of Animal Companions
  51. I am me | I Might Ramble
  52. Daily Prompt: “It’s Pohlin, sounds like Poland but pronounced po-LIN… just call me Po” | Pohlin Lau
  53. “That which we call a ROSE by another other name would smell as sweet.” | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain’s Wife
  54. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | MEM | The Journey of My Feet
  55. Namesake | 1+1=11
  56. Namesake | 1+1=11
  57. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! Victory, Rebellion, Peace | @ The West Gate
  58. Roshini | fingerprintwriting
  59. Name That Loon | Cheri Speak
  60. Names, Titles and Pseudonyms ~ a poem | Maggie’s Stories
  61. My Name is Maureen : DP | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  62. What’s in a name | dandelionsinwind
  63. Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Heron There & Everywhere
  64. My name is… | Pen Kisses Paper
  65. Purity | Scraps of Paper
  66. What if I was a girl? By the way, I’m not! | Okay, what if ?
  67. the UNCATEGORISED|Daily Prompt: IDENTITY | the TRASH BASH
  68. Daily Post – Daily Prompt – Name that… You! | awritersfountain
  69. Daily Prompt: Identity | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  70. That’s Not My Name! | An Upturned Soul
  71. Sorry, You’ve Been Disconnected | The Road Less Paved
  72. Danny Boy! | Danny James
  73. Daily Promt: And The Winner is… | Along Life’s Road
  74. Daily Prompt – Name That … You | hometogo232
  75. Bear… | Haiku By Ku

10 thoughts on “Have You Seen Molly?

  1. This can’t be a brain fart if it has that many links:P It’s brainarhea.

    I happen to like the name Molly. And, paired with Greye, even cooler. It reminds me of a Russian blue cat.

      • They mentioned the Mary/Molly drug on the radio today, but I didn’t stick around to hear what they said. I just thought I’d mention it:) I was surprised someone would attach such a name to a drug. I am sure it’s plant-related like poppies. Some “popping blue molly” flower out there that makes tacky dope.

Leave a Reply

