Brain Farts

I’ll Give It To You Straight

My wonderful hair straightener! It has been there for me through school, social events, and business meetings.

My wonderful hair straightener! It has been there for me through school, social events, and business meetings.

When packing for a trip, everyone makes sure to collect their essentials and other items used on the daily basis. Most, if not all, of the hygienic stuff are bagged up. Favorite outfits, shoes, underwear, hats, bra, etc. are also added, either neatly folded or crammed in there.

Then there is the one item to rule them all. The one item that travelers and vacationers make sure they pack to take with them and brought back. The loss of such highly valued item has been known to wreck vacations and cancel trips. Even satisfied vacationers have returned home disgruntled because they have misplaced their luxurious item.

 My luxury item I can’t live without: my hair straightener.

“WHAT THE FUDGE?”

Yes, you heard me correctly. My hair straightener. Here are my two reasons:

1. My hair is literally a hairy mess. My head is divided into different sections of curly, straight, and wavy hair. There is absolutely no consistency! Chewbacca’s fur is perfectly styled compared to mine. My parents’ chromosomes definitely pulled a permanent prank on me. I’ve never had a good hair day without some assistance. My hair is my nemesis and my straightener is the sword I wield to tame that beast.

2. My second reason is for public appearance. How can I be seen as a professional marketer if my hair looks like I stuck my finger in a light socket? Having good hygiene and appearance in a business field is very important to me. It’s a cut-throat world. I have seen executives’ negative reactions when they see a girl with uncombed hair. They see it as “if she can’t take care of her appearance, how can she take care of ours?” It’s sad but true and nerve-wrecking at the same time. Until I open my business, I have to play ‘The Business Game.’

Anywho, I love, love, love my hair straightener. It makes me feel super confident about myself when my hair is nice and even. I love it so much… that I would stop drinking coffee for it. Now that, my friends, is true love.

Daily Prompt: Luxurious 

Read what these bloggers can’t live without:

  1. The Man Who Had Everything | Godrick Gnomish
  2. Luxe | The Magic Black Book
  3. Luxury? Fresh Coffee! | The Ambitious Drifter
  4. A luxury to treasure | storyofmylife1993
  5. Daily Prompt: Luxury, A Poem « Vicariously Poetic
  6. Ah, Luxury | tuckedintoacorner
  7. Duncan the Sushi Roll #9 | Neva Samaki
  8. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Luxurious
  9. I can temporarily live without… | Sue’s Trifles
  10. Daily Prompt: Luxurious Air Conditioning | Under the Monkey Tree
  11. The gems of life | Life & Times
  12. Men, men and more men! Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  13. Daily Prompt: Luxurious | Photos and writings
  14. Don’t Take My Loom | The Jittery Goat
  15. the UNCATEGORISED | Daily Prompt: Luxurious | the TRASH BASH
  16. A luxury I can’t live without (with a sprinkling of nostalgia) | nasehamushtaq.
  17. To be loved-Biggest luxury | મન ની વાત
  18. Suicide no. 8: Hope Grimwald | derekalanwilkinson
  19. Luxurious: Adam & Eve – The Happy Couple | Khana’s Web
  20. Daily Prompt: Luxurious ‘Ensuite’ is a must-have | littlegirlstory
  21. Daily Prompt: Luxury | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  22. Luxurious | Geek Ergo Sum
  23. Gotta Ride? | Cowgirl Up!
  24. Daily Prompt: Luxurious | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  25. Can you Spot the Luxury in This Picture? | gorgeous little thieves
  26. Daily Prompt: Luxurious | My Atheist Blog
  27. Luxurious wine – Le luxe du vin | Icezine
  28. LUXURY | dandelionsinwind
  29. My BED. | Going New Places!
  30. Luxury by any other name… « RPMAS
  31. Daily Prompt: Luxurious | flow of my soul
  32. I Only need two really | tornin2’s Blog
  33. Daily Prompt: How do I live without you? My Luxury | M. L. Trefry
  34. Luxury | Conversations
  35. Vampire Maman
  36. Luxuries, who needs ‘em? | A mom’s blog
  37. A Day in the Life of our Fridge | A Day in the Life
  38. Luxury | Flowers and Breezes
  39. Daily Prompt: Luxurious | genieve celada | photography
  40. Daily Prompt: Luxurious – simple yet traditional combination | DCMontreal
  41. Daily Prompt: Luxurious – Sunny, bright, warm | SERENDIPITY
  42. Laughter is NOT a Luxury | Spirit Lights The Way
  43. No TP? No Way! | Spirit Lights The Way
  44. Daily Prompt: Luxurious | The Daily Post | The Blogging Path
  45. Daily Prompt: Luxurious » My Life, My Way, My Words
  46. Can’t Live Without… | Live Life Tr3mendously
  47. A Magical Afternoon: DP | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  48. Can’t live without you… | Nekoruchii: Life of a Commoner
  49. Daily Prompt : Dark circles be gone!! | Valley Girl Gone Country
  50. Luxurious | The Nameless One
  51. Luxurious: Being Able to Take Everything for Granted | TallFakeBlonde
  52. The Daily Post challenge. | Crossroads
  53. I’ll Give It To You Straight | Molly Greye
  54. Luxuries and Values | readingwithafeather
  55. Luxury of having friends- a fictional story | Passionate Ambika
  56. Luxurious | Chronicles of a Public Transit User
  57. A simple luxurious choice | Le Drake Noir
  58. Daily Prompt; Luxurious | terry1954
  59. Do I really live in the lap of luxury? | Rob’s Surf Report
  60. Luxury | Mareship
  61. HOT BATHS- great days are made of these | Hellen Masido
  62. Technology, I need you | My Year of New Beginnings
  63. September 7th: “Luxury” | Kialtho Does Blogging
  64. Define luxury | Spunky Wayfarer
  65. Daily Prompt: Without You | One Starving Activist
  66. never ever no way give up again!!!!! | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  67. ¢∞ The Grotto-man Bourgeois ∞¢ | The RunningFather Blog
  68. Me | Master Of Disaster
  69. Mirrors, Mirrors On The Walls; A Mirror Mirror For Every Wall! (My Obsession With Mirrors) | Luxe Your Life!
  70. Daily Prompt: Luxurious | Heron There & Everywhere
  71. Daily Prompt: Luxury | jennilala
  72. The Luxury of Clean Water…(wp daily prompt). | Daily Observations

2 thoughts on “I’ll Give It To You Straight

  1. I was in a cell phone store right after Hurricane Sandy. A young lady came in and asked if she could plug into a socket for some juice. A lot of people had lost electricity, so we figured she wanted to charge a phone. Would you believe she plugged in a hair straightener and did her hair right in the store. She had a date and wasn’t going without her do done. LOL

Leave a Reply

