Sweet & Sour Poetry

Don’t Mess With My Emotions, Woman!

“We’re pregnant!” the phone screams.
I nearly crash the car into a ditch
“We..We’re pregnant?” I stutter
My right eye begins to twitch

“Yes!” The wife says ecstatically
“I’ve been dying to have more babies.”
My heart sinks to into my stomach
I barely swerve away from some trees.

“We can talk more when you get home.”
She finished with a “I love you, honey!”
My jaw still hangs when the phone call ends
Where are we going to find the money?

We already have two amazing kids
I didn’t expect my wife to want more.
How long has she been wanting one?
Did she mention it before?

Strange appetites and mood swings
Crushed hands from labor pain
Baggy eyes from sleepless nights
Drinking coffee to keep sane.

The excitement in her voice
Will the clothes be pink or blue?
Despite my fears and concerns
I think I’m excited about the baby too.

I’m greeted with a smile
By my wife when I run home
I rub her stomach gently
Wondering when we’ll see a dome.

She looks at me confused
And then erupts into a laugh
“I’m not the one pregnant.” She says
I feel a cramp in my calf

“Then how are we pregnant?”
My wife gives me some back scrubs
“We’re going to be god parents.
Our lab is having pups.”

Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends

Other posts about never ending excitement!

  1. Nature’s Contrast | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. The Man Who Was Too Fond of Bugs | Godrick Gnomish
  3. 2020 Vision for Tokyo; Awarded Olympic Games | DCMontreal
  4. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | fictitious1
  5. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | Vagabond
  6. Lick or Even Eat Books | Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | likereadingontrains
  7. Daily Prompt: Excitement | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  8. Actually, it never really started | Life & Times
  9. A Slow Excitement | The Ambitious Drifter
  10. I finally did it | Improving Slowly
  11. #BenedictCumberbatch | vicbriggs’s Blog
  12. Excitement | Hope* the happy hugger
  13. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | Under the Monkey Tree
  14. The Many Faces Of Lucifer: Excitement | Mareship
  15. Rob’s Surf Report
  16. Daily Prompt: Excitement – The Terrapin Rescue | IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE
  17. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends « Mama Bear Musings
  18. Duncan the Sushi Roll #10 | Neva Samaki
  19. Excitement never ends: We meet again | storyofmylife1993
  20. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends
  21. Excitement! | kawaneehamilton
  22. Mack Moran’s Gets Published (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  23. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | The Daily Post | The Blogging Path
  24. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  25. Encounter with a night cat | We Live In A Flat
  26. Daily Prompt: Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy! | M. L. Trefry
  27. The fruits of stresses | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  28. Welcome Autumn… | {msphotography’s} chaoticwhitespace
  29. Bad Margaritas and Pecan Flan : The Excitement Never Ends | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  30. 166. Excited Beyond Words | kevindeisher
  31. Sunset and a Moonlit Night in Oia, Santorini | Life is a Vacation
  32. Hemmingway was right | Romelga writes
  33. Daily Prompt – Excitement | awritersfountain
  34. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends – I found the Key ! | littlegirlstory
  35. “The couch is more comfortable than the sidwalk.” | Motherhood and Beyond
  36. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | Moving Home to America | The Journey of My Feet
  37. Daily Prompt: Riding the rails at Busch Gardens | SERENDIPITY
  38. What if I was super, duper EXCITED? | Okay, what if ?
  39. Excitement? Video cameras? Cops? Screaming soon to be ex? No? Bother. « RPMAS
  40. Excited? Not with my inner selves at work… | thoughtsofrkh
  41. Daily Prompt: The Excitement Never Ends | THE WRITE PLACE
  42. My not-so-secret secret! | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  43. Daily Prompt: Excitement | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  44. Fueling excitement with sugar. | Zen Scribbles
  45. The Ultimate Travel Writer’s Workshop | theinbetweendream

11 thoughts on “Don’t Mess With My Emotions, Woman!

Leave a Reply

